Georgia Southwestern State University has announced two Jackson residents have been named to the school’s fall 2017 dean’s list.

Katie Gafford and Meghan Smith were among 600 students recognized for scholastic achievement. To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must earn a semester grade-point average of 3.5 or better and take a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Georgia Southwestern State University, located in Americus, is a public, four-year unit of the University System of Georgia with more than 3,000 students.