Qualifying starts Monday in Jackson mayoral election

The lineup of candidates in the special election to fill the seat of former Jackson Mayor Charlie Brown will take shape next week as hopefuls file their paperwork and pay their qualifying fees to seek a place on the ballot.

The Jackson City Council accepted Brown’s resignation Sept. 6, during a regular council meeting, by a vote of 4-1, with Councilman Lewis Sims in opposition. The council also voted to call a special election to fill Brown’s unexpired term, which began Jan. 1, 2010 and will end Dec. 31, 2013.

Qualifying for the post will begin Sept. 19, at 8:30 a.m., at Jackson City Hall, and end on Sept. 21 at 12 p.m. The qualifying fee is $342.

Since Brown’s resignation after 18 years as mayor of Jackson, Mayor Pro Tem Wayne Phillips has assumed the mayoral duties, and has said he plans to seek the post of mayor.

Phillips had been up for re-election to his District 4 seat on the council, and had filed qualifying paperwork before receiving Brown’s letter of resignation, which he read aloud at the Sept. 6 council meeting in Brown’s absence. After Brown resigned, Phillips withdrew his District 4 qualification. According to City Clerk Lara Brewer, former County Commission Chairman Mitchell McEwen was the only candidate to file paperwork for the District 4 post during the week of qualifying.

If no write-in candidates make it to the ballot, McEwen will take the post, and incumbent District 1 Councilman Theodore Patterson and District 5 Councilwoman Beth Weaver will retain their seats.

The municipal elections, which will include questions in each city in Butts County on Sunday alcohol sales, are set for Nov. 8. A referendum on extending the countywide Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax will be held the same day.

The voter registration deadline is Oct. 11.


On the net:

City of Jackson: www.cityofjacksonga.com

Butts County elections department: www.buttscounty.org/elections.html