Brown resigns as Jackson mayor

Qualifying closes on city council posts

Charlie Brown

Charlie Brown

As qualifying in local municipal elections came to a close Friday, so did the longtime mayor of Jackson’s term in office.

According to Jackson Mayor Pro Tem Wayne Phillips, the city’s mayor, Charlie Brown, tendered his resignation to Phillips on Friday afternoon.

Soon thereafter, Phillips withdrew his candidacy for re-election to his District 4 post on the City Council.

Phillips said he plans to run for the post of mayor in a special election that was expected to be called by the council at Tuesday evening’s meeting, when the council was also expected to formally accept Brown’s resignation.

Brown could not immediately be reached for comment Tuesday, but he cited health problems in his decision to retire from the insurance business last year.

Phillips, 68, said he would immediately assume the duties of mayor. He said qualifying for the special election would be later this month, and the election for mayor would be held Nov. 8, when other city elections are being held.

Phillips’ decision to withdraw from the race for District 4 left only one candidate seeking the post, former Butts County Commissioner Mitchell McEwen, who served as chairman of the board in 2010. McEwen was defeated by current commissioner Mike Patterson in the July 2010 Republican primary.

Phillips praised the work of Brown as mayor, a position he held for 18 years. Brown also served as a Butts County commissioner from 1985 to 1990.

“Charlie, he’s done an outstanding job as mayor,” Phillips said. “Charlie’s just done so much for the city and I’d like to see all that progress we’re making continue.”

Also qualifying to seek re-election to their seats on the Jackson City Council were Theodore Patterson, the District 1 councilman, and Beth S. Weaver, the District 5 councilwoman, according to City Clerk Lara Brewer. They will be uncontested, as will McEwen.

All potential candidates for November’s city government elections in Jackson, Flovilla, and Jenkinsburg had to submit the requisite paperwork to become qualified by the Sept. 2 deadline.

In Jenkinsburg, the mayor’s seat and two city council positions are up for election. Three candidates have qualified for the three positions, but not all of them will be retaining their same positions. According to City Clerk Laurie Yaw, Jenkinsburg City Councilman David Nestor has qualified for mayor, while Jenkinsburg Mayor Kenneth Rooks has qualified for Post 3 of the city council. Susan Barabas has qualified for re-election for Post 1 of the city council.

Flovilla also has three seats up for election, and like Jenkinsburg, the positions are for mayor and two city council seats.

Incumbent Harvey Morris and Scott Chewning, a local pastor, have qualified for the mayoral election. According to City Clerk Romela Freeman, the four qualifiers for the two open city council seats -- posts which will be filled by the two candidates with the most votes -- are Elizabeth Ogletree, a human resources associate in Butts County; Glorine Thurman, a health and transportation administrator at McIntosh Trail Early Childhood Development Council, Inc.; Jacqueline Grier, a family services associate at McIntosh Trail; and incumbent City Council member Willie Morgan.

Joe Patrick contributed to this article.